Day two: dinner…

Temptation, thy name is Second Cup.

Be gone, temptress!

This afternoon, I got a text from a friend wanting to go for coffee after work.

On the one hand, I’m never one to refuse a good time (especially now that I have a car). On the other hand, I’d be in a store full of “expensive” desserts and coffees that I couldn’t afford.

I knew if I went I wouldn’t be able to drink anything other than water or I’d blow my teeny weeny budget up into the stratosphere.

So what’s a girl to do?

To go or not to go?

I went.

However, I was ill prepared for how hard it would be to see all those sweet treats and smell that delicious coffee and not order anything. I really didn’t think I’d miss that stuff so much after only 2 days.

Actually, you know what? I don’t miss those specific things…I miss the freedom to buy them. It just plain sucks that I couldn’t buy anything.

But I held strong. Even though my friend got this:

It was vanilla-bean-something-awesome.

I stuck to my guns.

Oh yay...water

Following this I booked it home for dinner.

GET OUTTA MAH WAY PEOPLE!

I’ve noticed that because of the reduced portions I’m consuming right now I get extremely hungry by the time each meal rolls around. So if I’m even a little late (like taking the time to stop for “coffee”), I’m absolutely famished.

Anyways, I made it home and took the advice of “Totally Awesome Guy” (who I know in real life) and cooked the noodles, without the flavouring.

Mmmm, noodley.

Then I added a 1/2 tsp of chicken bouillon (1/3 the sodium of Mr. Noodles, FYI).

After some calculations I realized I could include a clove of garlic. So I sauteed it in a little water so I wouldn’t have to spend the money on oil again.

No vampires in my bedroom tonight.

Then I decided to also cook 2 hot dogs in the oven. They were so much better cooked this way – nice and crispy.

How very phallic...

At the end, I put it all together. I even added a little artistic flair with the placement of the hot dogs. I could be a professional chef.

Presentation is everything.

This dinner was so much better than yesterday. It makes a huge difference how you cook the food.

In total, for dinner I had 1 package of Mr. Noodles (21 cents), 1/2 tsp of chicken bouillon (4 cents), 1/4 tsp of olive oil (2 cents), 2 hot dogs (17 cents), and 1 clove of garlic (3 cents).

My total for supper was: 47 cents.

My total for today was: $1.16 (leaving me with have 34 cents)

SO FAR SO GOOD!

About stillwatters

I am a photographer. I am a woman. I am a graduate student. I am a full-time writer and researcher. I am disabled. I am in love. I am happy.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

