Day five: supper and a snack…

I am literally counting down the time till I can eat a proper meal. I don’t want to be hungry anymore. I just can’t imagine anyone living with this all day every day for 365 days a year.

It’s not fair.

So what did I have for my “last supper”?

I decided to crack open my can of chicken noodle soup (59 cents) and I added 3 cans of water to it to make it last longer. I also added 3/4 tsp of chicken bouillon (6 cents) and 1/4 tsp of curry spices (2 cents) for a total of $0.67. Making my overall total for today $1.33, leaving me 17 cents.

The soup nazi is wrong, I WILL have some soup!

I really thought that chicken noodle soup would be enough to last me until midnight but, like clockwork, about an hour or two later I was absolutely starving again.

So I added together what I had left from today (17 cents) and my savings (40 cents), which gave me $0.57 and I used it to have a snack.

ONTO THE SNACK!

I decided to spend every last penny, save one, for my snack. I had 4 hot dogs (28 cents for all 4), and 2 slices of bread (28 cents for both). It cost me $0.56…

And I can’t believe it but a half hour later, I’m still hungry. This is insanity.

Well, not as insane as her...

I don’t care what people say, you never get completely used to the hunger. It doesn’t become normal because it’s not normal.

Your body does not want to be hungry. It knows something’s wrong and it wants to make sure you know as well.

Sometimes your body just whispers to you that something is amiss, other times it screams at you to god damn eat.

But no matter how much I seem to eat at this point, my body still feels hungry, regardless of whether it is or not. I think I’ve gone into survival mode and my body is trying to get me to eat as much as possible by telling me I’m always hungry. That way, I’ll eat more.

To the max!

It makes me want to cry when I think about all the people in the world who go hungry all the time.

Only 3 hours left.

Tomorrow I will post a wrap-up about this challenge and summarize some of the things I’ve learned and some of the unexpected things that arose during the week.

About stillwatters

I am a photographer. I am a woman. I am a graduate student. I am a full-time writer and researcher. I am disabled. I am in love. I am happy.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

